PS3, Videos, xbox360

Final Fantasy XIII-2 Reviewed

Final Fantasy XIII-2 proves itself the better game, but it lacks the same focused storytelling employed in the original. It benefits from an improved battle system, open environments, and an overall level of polish that deserves a nod of respect. Despite its severe lack of closure, Final Fantasy XIII-2 still deserves your time, especially for a few poignant moments set at the end of days.”

Ryan Clements for IGN 80 of 100

“FFXIII-2 repairs almost every problem with Final Fantasy XIII, delivering an experience that feels like what that original game should have been. If your faith in Final Fantasy has been damaged by past disappointment, playing FFXIII-2 will restore your excitement for the franchise’s future.”

Official XBOX Magazine(UK) 90 of 100

“Beneath the emotional tale and a superb cast of characters lies an abundance of shallow filler content with no real purpose It’s disappointing to see a game with so much heart struggle under the burden of artificial mechanics.”

Playstation: The Official Magazine(US) 80 of 100

“Not the vastly different experience we might have expected, but no less welcome as a result. FFIII-2 comes recommended for those who didn’t get enough from the last game – however, those who were unconvinced are going to remain just that.”

Play UK 80 of 100

@purplejoystick

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Final Fantasy XIII-2 Reviewed

  1. Really didn’t enjoy FF13 so I’m glad they have gone back to the drawing board and improved the core formula.The demo was a lot of fun (and really pretty!) so I may have to pick it up some day

    Posted by lifetimegamer | January 28, 2012, 5:14 am
    • I understand peoples gripes about FFXIII but I enjoyed it, my opinion is heavily biased though haha. I am sure XIII-2 will spark your interest @lifetimegamer… and yes the demo was amazing.

      Posted by purplejoystick | January 29, 2012, 1:36 pm
      • I liked the characters and overall storyline in XIII but it felt very linear, something I wasn’t expecting in a FF title lol. I *think* my wife has pre-ordered a copy of XIII-2 for me so fingers crossed I’ll be able to give it a try soon 😀

        Posted by lifetimegamer | January 30, 2012, 8:23 am
  2. I pre-ordered the NA collector’s edition of this game in October from Best Buy…I can’t wait til it comes in my mailbox, I loved FF13 (I loved it so much that I happily went out and fought for I every trophy (in my case)/achievement (xbox 360 equivalent) in the game, even treasure hunter…), the FF13-2 demo was amazing and I want to play this game ALREADY!!! ugghhh…
    And to think that Best Buy is giving me a delivery date of February 6th :S. Oh well, the longer you wait, the better it is in the end in my experience ^_^.

    Posted by Jessie | January 29, 2012, 1:26 pm
    • I know where you’re coming from, Final fantasy is hands down one of the best franchises ever. I was glad when square involved other consoles besides Sony in the mix, It gives more gamers a chance to experience something remarkable!!!

      Posted by purplejoystick | January 29, 2012, 1:33 pm
  3. Just wondering, is anyone planning on getting the HD remake of FFX later this year? They can name their price as far as I’m concerned lol. I loved that game and its probably my favourite of the series 😀

    Posted by lifetimegamer | January 31, 2012, 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

Join 163 other followers

Twitter Updates

Flickr Photos

